FAQs — Orange County Small Claims & the COVID-19 Pandemic

-Question

Is the Court Closed?

Answer

The Court is closed to the public through May 22, 2020. Check the Court website www.occourts.org for details and the latest information.

-Question

Can I file a new Small Claims case right now?

Answer

No, the court is not processing any new Small Claims cases during the court closure.

-Question

What if I have a Small Claims hearing scheduled?

Answer

The Court announced on March 27, 2020 All Small Claims hearing dates set during the next 60 days are deemed vacated and will be reset for a date beyond 60 days. Notice will be provided to all parties. Although hearings may continue to display as calendared in electronic online case access, no hearings will be conducted during this period.

-Question

How can I find my new court date?

Answer

The Court will be sending notice of changed hearing dates. You can also use the case access tool on the Court’s website www.occourts.org, or call the Small Claims Advisory.

-Question

My original Court date is still showing up on the online case access. Is my hearing still scheduled for the same day?

Answer

Although hearings may continue to display as calendared in electronic online case access, no hearings will be conducted during this period.

-Question

Is the sheriff still serving court documents?

Answer

Check the Orange County Sheriff’s website www.ocsd.org for the most up to date information. Currently Sheriff buildings and lobbies are closed to the public.

-Question

How do I get help with my Small Claims case?

Answer

The Small Claims Advisory program is available by phone:

Monday 9:00 am- 6:00 pm

Tuesday- Friday 9:00 am- 5:00 pm

-Question

Where can I find Small Claims information and resources?

Answer

Small Claims information and resources are available on the following websites:

Orange County Small Claims Advisory: www.ocsmallclaims.org

Orange County Superior Court: www.occourts.org

California Judicial Branch: www.courts.ca.gov

Department of Consumer Affairs Small Claims Guide:

https://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/small_claims/ 

-Question

Where can I get Court forms?

Answer

All court forms are located on the Court’s website www.occourts.org under forms and filing.

-Question

Where can I get Orange County Sheriff forms?

Answer

All Orange County Sheriff forms can be found at www.ocsd.org

-Question

How long do I have to file a Claim?

Answer

The deadline to file a lawsuit is known as the statute of limitations. The time you have to file a lawsuit depends on the type of legal action. A list of common statutes of limitations can be found on the California Courts website at www.courts.ca.gov

Notwithstanding any other law, the statutes of limitation for civil causes of action are tolled from April 6, 2020, until 90 days after the Governor declares that the state of 15 emergency related to the COVID-19 pandemic is lifted.

General Small Claims Information: 

-Question

What can I sue for in Small Claims Court?

Answer

Small Claims Court lets parties resolve disputes involving money quickly and inexpensively. Small Claims trials are more informal than other civil trials, and the rules and procedures have been simplified. You can sue a person, business or public entity for money in Small Claims Court. Generally Small Claims Court is not able to force the other party to do, or not do something, unless a claim for money is part of the lawsuit or the request is expressly allowed by statute.

An individual or sole proprietorship can sue for up to $10,000. A corporation, partnership or other entities can sue for up to $5,000.  With limited exceptions you may only file two Small Claims cases over $2,500 during a calendar year.

-Question

How do I start a Small Claims case?

Answer

Before filing your Small Claims case you must ask the other party to pay you. You can do so in person, over the phone or send a demand letter. There are programs to help you write a demand letter.  Note if you are suing a public entity (such as local or state government) you must first file a written claim with that entity.  contact the public entity for information on how to file your claim.

To start your claim, complete form SC-100 (Plaintiff’s Claim and Order to go to Small Claims Court), and file it with the Court.

The Court will schedule a hearing date when the case is filed. Note: due to COVID-19 court dates may be scheduled farther out than normal.

-Question

What are the filing fees?

Answer

Cases up to $1500 = $30 filing fee

Cases over $1500 up to $5000 = $50 filing fee

Cases over $5,000 up to $10,000 = $75 filing fee

If you have filed more than 12 Small Claims Cases in the last 12 months = $100 filing fee.

Fee Waivers are available to those who qualify.  Complete forms FW-001 and FW-003 to request a fee waiver.

-Question

How do I name the defendant?

Answer

In general, if you are:

  • Suing a person: Write the person’s first name and last name (and middle initial, if known). For example: John A. Smith
  • Suing husband and wife: Write both their full names on two separate lines.
    • For example: John A. Smith and Jane A. Smith.
  • Suing a business owned by 1 person: Write the owner’s name and the business’s name.
  • For example, write: John Smith individually and dba, Smith Carpet Cleaning
  • Suing a partnership: Name the partnership and the partners individually too.
    • For example: John Smith and Sam Jones, individually and dba Smith & Jones, a partnership.
  • Suing a corporation: Write the exact legal name of the corporation.
    • For example: Smith Carpet Cleaning Inc., a corporation.
  • Suing a business owned by a corporation: Write the name of the corporation and the business.
    • For example: Smith Carpet Cleaning Inc. individually and dba The Carpet Cleaning Company
  • Suing because of a car accident: Write the name of the driver and the owners of the car. If there were multiple cars involved, it is important to name each driver and owner.
    • For example: If John Smith was driving the car when you were hit, but Jane Smith is the owner, your lawsuit would say: John Smith, driver, and Jane Smith, owner.

-Question

Where can I find out more information about a business? 

Answer

 Secretary of State

When suing a corporation, limited partnership, or limited liability company (LLC), you need to check the California Secretary of State’s website to find the company’s legal name and who is listed as the agent for service of process. This is the person or company that the corporation has chosen to receive legal papers.

https://businesssearch.sos.ca.gov/

 Orange County Clerk Recorder Fictitious Business Name Index

You can check the county records for the fictitious name filing for the business to see exactly how the owner’s name appears.  https://cr.ocgov.com/FBNOnlineNet/

City Hall

Contact City Hall in the city where the business is located to get a copy of the business license. The business license may provide information about ownership, and how the business is structured. Some cities allow you to look up business licenses online.

-Question

How do I serve the defendant?

Answer

The Defendant must be given a copy of the SC-100 before the Court date. Service must be done by someone over the age of 18 who is not a party of the case. You cannot serve the papers yourself.

The Defendant can be served by either personal or substitute service.  Personal service means the papers are given directly to the party being sued. Substitute service means the papers are given to an adult where the person lives, works or receives mail. (Not a U.S. post office box)

Service can be done by an adult over 18 who is not a party of the case, such as a friend. The Sheriff or registered process server can serve the papers for a fee. The Court Clerk can also serve by certified mail; however, this is the least reliable form of service.

A Proof of Service, Form SC-104- must be completed by the server and returned to the Court.

Refer to Form SC-104B for more information regarding service, and Form SC-104C for information on how to serve a business or government entity.

 -Question

Where do I file my Claim?

Answer

See venue table below

Justice Center Phone Number Examples of “venue” include where the defendant lives or does business; where the plaintiff’s property was damaged; where the plaintiff was injured; where the contract was made, signed, performed, or broken.
Central Justice Center
700 Civic Center Drive West
Santa Ana, CA 92701Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center – 1st Floor, Room G-100
(657) 622-6878 Orange, Santa Ana, Tustin, and Villa Park
Harbor Justice Center – Newport Beach Facility
4601 Jamboree Road
Newport Beach, CA 92660-2595Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center – 1st Floor, Room 150
(657) 622-5400 Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Newport Beach, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, and San Juan Capistrano
North Justice Center
1275 N. Berkeley Ave.
Fullerton, CA 92832-1258Small Claims – Upper Level, North Wing
Self-Help Center – Upper Level, Room 360
(657) 622-5600 Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Fullerton, La Habra, La Palma, Placentia, and Yorba Linda
West Justice Center
8141 13th St.
Westminster, CA 92683-4593Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center
(657) 622-5900 Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Los Alamitos, Seal Beach, Stanton, and Westminster

-Question

I am being sued what are my options?

Answer

Go to the trial and present your defenses. You do not need to file a response. If you do not attend your hearing a default judgment may be entered against you. If you are not able to attend the hearing date you may request a postponement.

You can try to settle the case before the court date. See the information regarding settlement options below.

You may sue the person who is suing you if you have a claim against them that is suitable for Small Claims Court. Complete the Defendant’s Claim and Order to go to Small Claims Court SC-120. File the SC-120 with the Court and then have the Plaintiff served with the claim.

-Question

How do I postpone my court date?

Answer

Any party may request to postpone a hearing date for good cause.

Complete the Request for Postponement Form SC-150. A copy of the Request for Postponement form (SC-150) must be mailed to the other parties in the action. A Proof of Service by Mail form (SC-112a) must be submitted to the court at the same time as the Request for Postponement.

The request to postpone must be filed at least 10 days before the hearing date unless the court determines there is good cause for not submitting the request sooner.

There is a $10 filing fee to request a postponement, unless a Fee Waiver has been granted by the Court.

-Question

How do I subpoena a witness or documents?

Answer

A subpoena is an order to appear at a certain time and place to give testimony upon a certain matter. It may also require a witness to produce documents under the witness’s control which the witness is obligated to produce by law.

Complete the Small Claims Subpoena and Declaration, SC-107 or pre-issued Form L-0520.  File it at the Court. You then need to serve a copy of the Small Claims Subpoena, IN PERSON, on the witness. Unlike the “Plaintiff’s Claim and Order to Defendant” form, the party seeking the subpoena can serve it. After serving the subpoena, the original subpoena must be returned to the Court with the completed Proof of Service on the back.

NOTE: If you are filling out the (L-0520) version of the “Small Claims Subpoena and Declaration” form you do not need the clerk to issue the form; it has already been issued for you.

A witness can ask for fees plus mileage. Witness fees for law enforcement officers and government employees are higher. If a witness asks for fees, the witness need not appear unless the required fees are paid to and received.

-Question

How do I prepare for my trial? 

Answer

Gather any evidence that will help the judge understand the case. Your evidence may include any written contracts, receipts, letters, written estimates, repair orders, photographs, canceled checks, account books, advertisements, warranties, service contracts, or other documents. Whenever possible, bring originals and copies of documents. In property damage cases, some Courts ask the plaintiff to provide two or three repair cost estimates to show the reasonableness of the claim.

Make two copies of any document you intend to give the judge. The judge may ask you to give one copy to the other party and may place one copy in the Court’s file. The Court will usually allow you to keep your original.

In Small Claims Court, judges take an active role and may ask questions that will enable them to understand the case. Small Claims Court judges can also consider information and evidence that would not be permitted in other Courts. Therefore, you should not hesitate to take any items or documents to Court.

Be brief in making your points. Do your best to be objective and unemotional. The judge will be interested only in hearing the facts about your dispute. Do not raise your voice or make insulting remarks about the other party or any witness, no matter how angry you are. During the hearing, you should speak to the judge and not to the other party. Most important, you must be truthful in everything you say

 -Question

How can I settle my case before trial?

Answer

You can try to settle your claim before the hearing date using the following options:

Settle the dispute on your own

You can contact the other party and work out an agreement on your own. If you resolve your dispute you can dismiss your case.

Mediation

In person mediation is available at the Court on the day of your hearing. If you reach an agreement the mediator can help you prepare a stipulation form. If the terms of the stipulation are not followed a judgment can be entered.

Online Dispute Resolution

Online Dispute Resolution allows you to settle your case before your hearing date. Online Dispute Resolution is a free, voluntary, confidential process through which people communicate online to resolve a conflict. You can request a qualified and experienced mediator called an ODR Facilitator.

Go to www.odr.legal-aid.com to learn more.

 -Question

How do I dismiss my case?

Answer

Complete the Small Claims Dismissal (L-1203) and file it with the court.

You can either dismiss your case “with prejudice” meaning you cannot sue again over the same cause of action, or “without prejudice” meaning you can sue again over the same cause of action.

-Question

I did not go to my court date, what can I do?

Answer

If you are the Defendant and a default judgment was entered against you, then complete the Notice of Motion to Vacate form SC-135. This will set up a new Court hearing where you will have the opportunity to explain why you did not attend the trial.

If the Court vacates the Judgment a new trial will be held. Be prepared will all your evidence you would want to present in the trial.

If the Court denies your Motion to Vacate, you have 10 days to file an appeal form SC-140.

If you are the Plaintiff and you did not go to your hearing, your case will most likely be dismissed. If your case was dismissed without prejudice, you can refile your case by submitting a new SC-100. You will need to serve the Defendant again.

-Question

I lost the case what are my options?

Answer

Appeal:

You cannot appeal a decision if you filed the claim. You can only appeal the other party’s claim. That means on the Plaintiff’s claim, the Defendant may appeal a judgment against them. However, if you are the Plaintiff, you may not appeal the judge’s decision, unless the defendant countersued you and a judgment was ordered against you.

Complete and file a Notice of Appeal (SC 140) within 30 days of the day the Court Clerk mails the “Notice of Entry of Judgment.” (The date of mailing will appear on the “Notice of Entry of Judgment”). There is a $75 filing fee.

The clerk will send a notice of the court date Both parties must return to court and present their cases all over again as if the first trial never took place. The judge’s decision on the appeal is final.

Both parties may be represented by an attorney at the Appeal.

Pay the judgment either directly to the creditor or the Court.

To pay the court complete the form “Request to Pay Judgment to the Court” (SC-145) and submit the amount of the total judgment, including costs and interest. There is a $20 filing fee. The Court (and not the Judgment Creditor) is then responsible for completing the “Acknowledgment of Satisfaction of Judgment” (EJ-100) and entering satisfaction.

Set up a Payment plan

The judgment debtor can file a “Request to Pay Judgment in Installments” (SC-220) form. This form must be filed with a “Financial Statement” (EJ-165), which is a financial declaration form. Both the “Request to Pay Judgment in Installments” and the “Financial Statement” will be mailed to the judgment creditor by the Court. The judgment creditor can either oppose the debtor’s request or agree to it. A hearing may or may not be held.

PROTECTING PROPERTY OR INCOME FROM COLLECTION

A judgment debtor may be able to protect some or all of their assets including property and income from being taken to pay the judgment. Contact the Small Claims Advisory for more information

-Question

How do I collect my money?

Answer

The Judgment Creditor (the party who has won judgment) must take steps to collect the judgment. The Court will not collect the judgment for the creditor. The Small Claims Court judgment becomes final and enforceable 30 days after the clerk has delivered or mailed the “Notice of Entry of Judgment (Small Claims)” (SC-130). The “Notice of Entry of Judgment (Small Claims)” date of mailing will be stamped on the form itself. If the defendant files an appeal and loses, the judgment becomes enforceable immediately.

Debtors exam

In a Judgment Debtor’s Examination, the debtor is ordered to appear in Court to answer the Judgment Creditor’s questions about the existence and location of his or her assets.

To set a hearing for an examination, you must complete and file an “Application for Order to Produce Statement of Assets and to Appear for Examination” (SC-134) form. There is a $60 fee for the clerk to issue a hearing date for a debtor’s examination.

You must have a copy of the SC-134 and a blank copy of the “Judgment Debtor’s Statement of Assets (Small Claims)“(Form SC-133) personally served on the judgment debtor by a Sheriff or licensed process server at least 10 calendar days before the date of the hearing. Then, you must file a “Proof of Service (Small Claims)” (Form SC-104) with the court.

Bank levy

A bank levy means that money will be taken from the judgment debtor’s bank account to pay the judgment. Only the name and address of the bank is needed, the account number is not necessary.

You will need to get a “Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest” (MC-012) for interest and a “Writ of Execution” (EJ-130) which directs the sheriff to perform a levy. Both forms must be filed with the court clerk. There is a $40 fee to issue a “Writ of Execution.”

Once stamped and issued by the Court Clerk take the Writ of execution with a notice of Levy  Form (EJ-150) to the sheriff to serve. The sheriff charges a service fee.

 Garnish the Judgment Debtor’s wages

A wage garnishment orders the debtor’s employer to give the sheriff part of the debtor’s wages until the debt is paid.

To garnish wages, complete a “Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest” (MC-012) form, which states the interest and costs incurred post judgment and a “Writ of Execution” (EJ-130) form, which directs the sheriff to enforce the judgment. The “Writ of Execution” costs $40 dollars to file with the Court Clerk.

Once stamped and issued by the Court Clerk, take the “Writ of Execution” form along with a completed “Application for Earnings Withholding Order” (WG-001) to the Sheriff. The sheriff will charge a service fee.

Place a Keeper in the Judgment Debtor’s business

If the debtor is a business, the Sheriff will, for a fee, remain in the debtor’s business establishment and take all the funds that come in until the judgment is paid. The keeper can collect cash, checks, and bank credit card drafts. Make sure you have the name and address of the business.

You will need to get a “Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest” (MC-012) for interest and a “Writ of Execution” (EJ-130) which directs the sheriff to be hired as a “keeper.”

Instruct the Sheriff to put a keeper in the business. If the debtor closes the business while the Sheriff is there, you’ll have to pay another fee each time the Sheriff goes back.

Till tap

If the judgment debtor is a business with a cash register, the sheriff can go to the business and take enough money out of the register to satisfy the judgment and the Sheriff’s fee.

You will need to get a “Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest” (MC-012) for interest and a “Writ of Execution” (EJ-130) which directs the sheriff to perform a “till tap”. Both forms must be filed with the court clerk. There is a fee to issue a “Writ of Execution.”

Take the “Writ of Execution” with the Sheriff and Instruct the Sheriff to do a till tap. You must know the name and address of the business. If there is not enough money in the register to pay the judgment, you will have to pay another fee each time the Sheriff goes back. There is a fee for the Sheriff to perform a till tap.

Put a lien on the Judgment Debtor’s Real Property

An “Abstract of Judgment – Civil and Small Claims” (EJ-001) puts a lien on any land, house, or other building the judgment debtor owns in the county where the “Abstract of Judgment” is recorded.

To have an “Abstract of Judgment” issued, you will need to file Form EJ-001 with the court clerk.  There is a $40 filing fee. After it is issued take it to the County Recorder’s Office to record. Record the abstract in all counties where the debtor may own property.

-Question

How long is my judgment good for?

Answer

Small Claims Judgments automatically expire after 10 years. You can renew your judgment for an additional 10 years before it expires.

-Question

What do I do after the judgment has been paid?

Answer

The Judgment Creditor must file an Acknowledgment of Satisfaction of Judgment. If no property liens were filed use Form SC-290 or sign the Acknowledgement of Satisfaction of Judgement on the back of the Small Claims Judgment form SC-130.

If the debtor makes a written request and you do not file the acknowledgment within 14 days, you can be held liable for all damages sustained, plus $50.

If a lien exists, you will have to use Form EJ-100.Have it notarized before filing it with the court, then record a certified copy with the county recorder’s office.

You MUST remove liens that you have placed on the debtor’s real and personal property.

En Español

Condado de Orange, Reclamos Menores

Respuestas a Preguntas Frecuentes  

-Pregunta

¿La Corte está cerrada?

Respuesta

La Corte está cerrada al público hasta 22 Mayo, 2020. Revise la página de Internet de la Corte www.occourts.org para más detalles y la información más actualizada.

-Pregunta

¿Puedo presentar un caso nuevo de Reclamos Menores en estos momentos?

Respuesta

No, la corte no está procesando casos nuevos de Reclamos Menores durante el cierre de la corte.

-Pregunta

¿Qué pasa si tengo una audiencia programada para un caso de Reclamos Menores?

Respuesta

La Corte anunció en 27 Marzo 2020 que todas las audiencias para casos de Reclamos Menores programadas dentro de los próximos 60 días se consideran quitadas y serán reprogramadas para una fecha más allá de los 60 días. Una notificación será proporcionada a todos los participantes.

Aunque las audiencias puedan continuar mostrándose como programadas en el acceso electrónico de los casos en línea, no se realizará ninguna audiencia durante este período.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo puedo encontrar la nueva fecha de mi audiencia?

Respuesta

La Corte enviará un aviso de cambio de fecha de audiencia. Usted también puede usar los útiles de acceso a casos en el sitio web de Corte

www.occourts.org o llamar al programa de Consejeros de Reclamos Menores.

-Pregunta

Mi fecha original de la audiencia aún se muestra en el acceso electrónico de los casos en línea. ¿Mi audiencia aún sigue programada para el mismo día?

Respuesta

Aunque las audiencias puedan continuar mostrándose como programadas en el acceso electrónico a los casos en línea, no se realizará ninguna audiencia durante este período.

-Pregunta

¿Todavía el Alguacil continúa entregando documentos de corte?

Respuesta

Verifique en el sitio web www,ocsd.org para una información más actualizada. Actualmente los edificios y vestíbulos de las oficinas del Alguacil están cerrados al público.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo obtengo ayuda con mi caso de Reclamos Menores?

Respuesta

El programa de Consejeros de Reclamos Menores está disponible a través del teléfono.

Lunes, 9:00 am hasta las 6:00 pm

Martes a Viernes, 9:00 am hasta las 5:00 pm

-Pregunta 

¿Dónde puedo encontrar información y recursos para Reclamos Menores?

Respuesta

Información y recursos para Reclamos Menores están disponibles en los siguientes sitios web:

Programa de Consejeros de Reclamos Menores: www.ocsmallclaims.org

Corte Superior del Condado de Orange: www.occourts.org

Sucursal Judicial de California (California Judicial Branch): www.courts.ca.gov

Departamento de Asuntos del Consumidor, Guía de Reclamos Menores

(Department of Consumer Affairs Small Claims Guide):  https://www.dca.ca.gov/publications/small_claims/

-Pregunta 

¿Dónde puedo obtener los formularios de Corte?

Respuesta

Todos los formularios de la Corte están localizados en el sitio web de la Corte: www.occourts.org bajo el nombre de formularios y presentaciones (forms and filing)

-Pregunta

¿Dónde puedo obtener los formularios del Alguacil del Condado de Orange?

Respuesta

Todos los formularios de la oficina del Aguacil del Condado de Orange se pueden encontrar en:  www.ocsd.org

-Pregunta

¿Cuánto tiempo tengo para presentar un Reclamo?

Respuesta

La fecha limite para presentar una demanda es conocida como Estatuto de Limitaciones.  El tiempo que tiene para presentar una demanda depende del tipo de acción legal.  Una lista de estatutos de limitaciones comunes puede encontrarlas en el sitio web de las Cortes de California al www.courts.ca.gov

A pesar de cualquier otra ley, los estatutos de limitación para casos de acción legal civil han sido puestos en pausa desde 6 de Abril 2020 hasta 90 días después de que el Gobernador declare que el estado de 15 emergencia relacionado con la pandemia del COVID-19 sea terminado.

Información General sobre Reclamos Menores 

-Pregunta

¿Qué es lo que puedo demandar en Reclamos Menores?

Respuesta

En Reclamos Menores se les permite a los participantes resolver disputas de manera rápida y económica donde esté involucrado dinero.  Los juicios de Reclamos Menores son más informales que otros juicios civiles donde las reglas y procedimientos han sido simplificados.  Usted puede demandar por dinero a una persona, negocio o entidad pública en la Corte de Reclamos Menores.  Generalmente la Corte de Reclamos Menores no puede forzar a la otra persona a hacer o no hacer algo, a no ser que el reclamo por dinero es parte de la demanda o solicitud que está expresamente permitido por el estatuto.

Un individuo o propietario único puede demandar hasta por $10,000.  Una corporación, asociación u otras entidades pueden demandar hasta por $5,000. Con excepciones limitadas, usted solamente puede presentar 2 casos de Reclamos Menores por más de $2,500 durante el año calendario.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo comienzo un caso de Reclamos Menores?

Respuesta

Antes de presentar su caso de Reclamos Menores usted puede pedirle a la persona que le pague.  Puede hacerlo personalmente, a través de una llamada telefónica o enviarle una carta demandante.  Hay programas donde le pueden ayudar a redactar una carta demandante. Nota, si usted está demandando a una entidad pública (tales como local o del gobierno estatal) usted debe primero que presentarles un reclamo por escrito a esa entidad. Contáctese con la entidad pública para información en cómo puede presentar su reclamo.

Para comenzar su reclamo, complete el formulario SC-100 Reclamo del Demandante y Orden para ir a la Corte de Reclamos Menores (Plaintiff’s Claim and Order to go to Small Claim), y preséntelo a la Corte.

La Corte le asignará una fecha para una audiencia cuando presente el caso. Nota: debido al COVID-19 las fechas para audiencias puedan que se programen mas tarde de lo normal.

-Pregunta

¿Cuáles son las tarifas por archivar el caso?

Respuesta

Casos hasta $1,500= $30 costo de archivo

Casos por más de $1,500 hasta $5,000= $50 costo de archivo

Casos por más de $5,000 hasta $10,000= $75 costo de archivo

Si usted ha presentado más de 12 casos de Reclamos Menores durante los últimos 12 meses = $100 costo de archivo.

Exención de Tarifas (Fee Waivers) están disponibles para aquellos que califiquen.  Complete los formularios FW-001 y FW-003 para pedir una exención de tarifas.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo nombro al acusado?

Respuesta

Generalmente si usted está:

.  Demandando a una persona: Escriba el primer nombre y el apellido de la persona (y si sabe la inicial del segundo nombre), Por ejemplo: John A. Smith.

.  Demandando al esposo y la esposa: Escriba sus nombres completos en dos líneas por separado. Por ejemplo: John A. Smith y Jane A. Smith.

.  Demandando a un negocio donde el dueño es 1 persona: Escriba el nombre del dueño y el nombre del negocio, Por ejemplo, escriba: John Smith individualmente y haciendo negocios como (dba doing business as), Smith Carpet Cleaning.

. Demandando a una asociación: Nombre a la asociación y también a sus socios individualmente, Por Ejemplo: John Smith y Sam Jones, individualmente y haciendo negocios como (dba doing business as)Smith & Jones, una asociación (a partnership).

.  Demandando a una corporación: Escriba exactamente el nombre legal de la corporación, Por ejemplo: Smith Carpet Cleaning, Inc, una corporación (a corporation).

. Demandando a un negocio propiedad de una corporación: Escriba el nombre de la corporación y del negocio. Por Ejemplo: Smith Carpet Cleaning Inc. Individualmente y haciendo negocios como (dba) The Carpet Cleaning Company.

.  Demandando debido a un accidente de auto: Escriba el nombre del conductor y de los dueños del auto.  Si hubo múltiples autos involucrados, es importante que nombre a cada conductor y dueño.  Por ejemplo: Si John Smith iba conduciendo el auto cuando le pegaron, pero Jane Smith es la dueña, su demanda debe mostrar: John Smith, conductor y Jane Smith, dueña.

-Pregunta

¿Dónde puedo encontrar más información sobre un negocio?

Respuesta

Secretaría de Estado (Secretary of State)

Cuando se demanda a una corporación, sociedad de responsabilidad limitada (limited partnership) o compañía de responsabilidad limitada (LLC limited liability company) usted necesita verificar en el sitio web de la Secretaría del Estado de California (California Secretary of State) para encontrar el nombre legal y quien figura como el agente para el proceso de entrega de la demanda. Esta es la persona o compañía que la corporación ha escogido para recibir documentos legales.

https://businesssearch.sos.ca.gov/

Índice del Nombre Comercial Ficticio del Registrador del Condado de Orange (Orange County Clerk Recorder Fictitious Business Name Index)

Usted puede verificar en los registros del condado los nombres ficticios que se presentan por los negocios para ver exactamente como es que aparece el nombre del dueño.  https://cr.ocgov.com/FBNOnlineNet/

Municipalidad

Contacte a la Municipalidad (City Hall) donde está localizado el negocio para obtener una copia de la licencia del negocio.  La licencia del negocio puede proporcionar información sobre propiedad y como es la estructura del negocio. Algunas municipalidades permiten mostrar en línea las licencias de los negocios

-Pregunta

¿Cómo le entrego los documentos al demandado?

Respuesta

Se le debe de entregar una copia del formulario SC-100 al demandado antes de la fecha de audiencia. La entrega debe de hacerse por una persona de 18 años o más y que no forme parte del caso. Usted no puede entregarle los documentosusted mismo.

Al demandado se le puede entregar por servicio personal o sustituto. Servicio personal significa que los documentos se entregan directamente al demandado. Servicio de Sustituto significa que los documentos se le entregan a una persona adulta donde vive, donde trabaja o recibe correspondencia (No en una oficina de correos de US de apartado postal) el demandado.

La entrega o servicio puede hacerla un adulto de 18 años o más y que no forma parte del caso, así como un amigo.  El Alguacil o una persona registrada en el proceso de servir documentos puede entregarle los documentos por una tarifa.  El Escribano de la Corte (Court Clerk) también puede servir documentos vía correo certificado, sin embargo, esta sería la forma menos confiable de servicio.

El documento Prueba de Servicio (Proof of Service), Formulario SC-104, debe de ser completado por la persona que entregó los documentos y llevado de vuelta a la Corte.

Refiérase al Formulario SC-104B para más información en relación con el proceso de entrega de documentos y el Formulario SC-104C para información sobre proceso de entrega de documentos a negocios o entidades gubernamentales.

-Pregunta

¿Adónde presento mi Reclamo?

Respuesta

Vea la información de lugares a continuación:

Centro de Justicia    Número del Teléfono   Ejemplos de “lugares” incluye donde vive el demandado o tiene negocio; donde la propiedad del Demandante fue dañada, donde el Demandante fue lesionado, donde el contrato fue hecho, firmado, ejecutado o incumplido
Central Justice Center
700 Civic Center Drive West
Santa Ana, CA 92701Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center – 1st Floor, Room G-100
(657) 622-6878 Orange, Santa Ana, Tustin, and Villa Park
Harbor Justice Center – Newport Beach Facility
4601 Jamboree Road
Newport Beach, CA 92660-2595Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center – 1st Floor, Room 150
(657) 622-5400 Aliso Viejo, Dana Point, Irvine, Laguna Beach, Laguna Hills, Laguna Niguel, Laguna Woods, Lake Forest, Mission Viejo, Newport Beach, Rancho Santa Margarita, San Clemente, and San Juan Capistrano
North Justice Center
1275 N. Berkeley Ave.
Fullerton, CA 92832-1258Small Claims – Upper Level, North Wing
Self-Help Center – Upper Level, Room 360
(657) 622-5600 Anaheim, Brea, Buena Park, Fullerton, La Habra, La Palma, Placentia, and Yorba Linda
West Justice Center
8141 13th St.
Westminster, CA 92683-4593Small Claims – 1st Floor
Self-Help Center
(657) 622-5900 Costa Mesa, Cypress, Fountain Valley, Garden Grove, Huntington Beach, Los Alamitos, Seal Beach, Stanton, and Westminster

-Pregunta

He sido demandado ¿Cuáles son mis opciones?

Respuesta

Vaya a la audiencia y presente sus defensas. No necesita presentar una respuesta a la demanda.  Si usted no comparece a su audiencia, un fallo por defecto puede ser presentado en su contra.  Si no puede comparecer en la fecha de su audiencia, usted puede pedir un aplazamiento.

Usted puede intentar resolver su caso antes de la fecha de audiencia. A continuación, vea la información sobre las opciones en resolver su caso:

Usted puede demandar a la persona que lo está demandando si usted tiene un reclamo en contra de ellos que es adecuado para la Corte de Reclamos Menores.  Complete el formulario de Orden y Reclamo del Defendido para ir a Reclamos Menores ( Defendant’s Claim and Order to go to Small Claims Court)SC-120. Entregue el SC-120 a la Corte y después haga que se le entregue el reclamo al Demandante.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo aplazo mi fecha de audiencia?

Respuesta

Cualquiera de los involucrados puede solicitar posponer una fecha de audiencia con una buena causa.

Complete la Solicitud para Aplazamiento, Forma SC-150( Request for Postponement). Una copia de la Solicitud para Aplazamiento (SC-150) debe ser enviado por correo a las otras personas involucradas en la acción legal. Un Formulario de Prueba de Servicio por Correo, Proof of Service by mail (SC-112 a) debe de ser presentado a la corte al mismo tiempo que La Solicitud para Aplazamiento (Request for Postponement)

La Solicitud para Aplazamiento debe de ser entregada en la corte por lo menos 10 días antes de la fecha de audiencia a no ser que la corte determine que haya una buena causa para no entregar antes la Solicitud.

Hay un cobro de $10 por archivar la solicitud de aplazamiento, a no ser que la Exención de Tarifas (Fee Waiver) haya sido otorgada por la Corte.

-Pregunta

¿Cómo hago una citación(subpoena) a un testigo o documento?

Respuesta

Una citación o subpoena es una orden de comparecencia en cierto momento y lugar para dar testimonio sobre cierto asunto. También puede requerir a un testigo que comparezca con documentos bajo su control y los cuales el testigo está obligado por ley a traer.

Complete el Formulario Subpoena y Declaración de Reclamos Menores, SC-107 (Small Claims Subpoena and Declaration, SC-107) o el Formulario Pre-Emitido L-0520(pre-issued Form L-0520). Entréguelo en la Corte. Después usted necesita entregar una copia del Formulario Subpoena y Declaración de Reclamos Menores EN PERSONA al testigo. A diferencia del formulario de Reclamo del Demandante y la Orden al Demandado, la persona que quiere la subpoena puede entregarla.  Después de entregar la subpoena, la forma original de la subpoena debe de entregarse a la Corte con el formulario completo de Prueba de Servicio en la parte de atrás de la subpoena.

Nota: Si usted va a entregar la versión de formulario (L-0520) de Subpoena y Declaración de Reclamos Menores, no necesita que el Escribano de la Corte emita el formulario porque ya está emitido para usted.

El testigo puede solicitar un pago por ser testigo más un pago por las millas de distancia. Los pagos a testigos oficiales de la policía o empleados gubernamentales son más caros.  Si un testigo le pide un pago, el testigo no necesita comparecer a no ser que los pagos solicitados hayan sido pagados y recibidos.

-Pregunta 

¿Cómo me preparo para mi juicio?

Respuesta

Reúna toda evidencia que ayude al juez a entender su caso. Su evidencia puede incluir algún contrato por escrito, recibos, cartas, estimados por escrito, ordenes de reparación, fotografías, cheques cancelados, libro de cuentas, propagandas, garantías, contratos para servicios u otros documentos. Siempre que sea posible, traiga los originales y copias de documentos. En casos de daños a la propiedad, algunas Cortes le pide al demandante que proporcione dos o tres estimados de costo de reparaciones para mostrar la razonabilidad de la reclamación.

Haga dos copias de los documentos que usted quiera darle al juez.  El juez le puede pedir que le de una copia a la otra persona y guardar la otra copia en los archivos de la corte.  La Corte usualmente le permite a usted quedarse con el documento original.

En la Corte de Reclamos Menores, los jueces llevan una posición activa y puede hacerle preguntas que le permitan comprender su caso.  Los jueces de la Corte de Reclamos Menores también pueden considerar información y evidencia no permitidas en otras Cortes y por lo tanto no dude en llevar artículos o documentos a la Corte.

Sea breve al exponer su punto. Haga su mejor esfuerzo en ser objetivo y sin emociones.  El juez va a estar interesado en oír los hechos sobre su disputa. No levante su voz o haga comentarios insultantes sobre la otra persona o un testigo sin importar lo enojado que esté. Durante la audiencia, usted va a dirigirse al juez y no a la otra persona y lo más importante es ser sincero en cada cosa que diga.

-Pregunta

¿Puedo resolver mi caso antes del juicio?

Respuesta

Usted puede resolver su reclamo antes de la fecha de audiencia usando las siguientes opciones:

Resolver su disputa por usted mismo.

Usted puede contactar a la otra persona y usted mismo puede negociar un acuerdo.  Si resuelve la disputa usted puede desestimar su caso.

Mediación

Servicios personales de Mediación están disponibles en la Corte en el día de su audiencia. Si logran llegar a un acuerdo, el mediador puede ayudarle a preparar el formulario de la estipulación.  Si los términos de la estipulación no se cumplen, un fallo judicial se llevará a cabo.

Resolución de Disputas en Línea

La Resolución de Disputas en Línea le permite resolver su caso antes el día de su audiencia. La Resolución de Disputas en Línea es un proceso gratuito, voluntario y confidencial y a través del cual las personas se comunican en línea para resolver el conflicto.  Usted puede solicitar un mediador calificado y experimentado llamado ODR Facilitator.

Visite www.odr.legal-aid.com para más información

-Pregunta

¿Cómo desestimo mi caso?

Respuesta

Complete el formulario Desestimo de Reclamos Menores(Small Claims Dismissal L-1203) y preséntelo a la Corte

Usted puede desestimar su caso “con prejuicio” (with prejudice), que significa que usted no puede demandar otra vez por el mismo motivo de su acción legal o “sin prejuicio” (without prejudice) que significa que usted puede demandar otra vez por el mismo motivo de su acción legal.

-Pregunta

No fui a mi fecha de juicio ¿Qué puedo hacer?

Respuesta

Si usted es el demandado y se emitió un fallo judicial por defecto (Default Judgment) en contra suya, entonces complete el formulario de Noticia de Moción para Remover SC-135(Notice of Motion to Vacate SC-135). Ésto establecerá una nueva audiencia en la Corte donde usted tendrá la oportunidad de explicar el motivo por el cual no compareció al juicio.

Si la Corte Remueve el Fallo Judicial, se llevará a cabo un nuevo juicio. Prepare toda la evidencia que usted quiera presentar en el juicio.

Si la Corte le niega la Moción de Remover, usted tiene 10 días para presentar un formulario de apelación SC-140.

Si usted es el Demandante y no compareció a su audiencia, lo mas probable es que su caso sea desestimado. Si su caso fue desestimado sin prejuicio, usted puede presentar de nuevo su caso presentando un nuevo formulario C-100.  Necesitará entregar los documentos de nuevo al Demandado

-Pregunta

Perdí el caso ¿Cuáles son mis opciones?

Respuesta

Apelar:

Usted no puede apelar la decisión del juez si usted fue el que presentó el reclamo. Usted solamente puede apelar el reclamo de la otra persona. Esto significa que, en el Reclamo del Demandante, el Acusado puede apelar el fallo judicial en su contra. Sin embargo, si usted es el Demandante, usted no puede apelar la decisión del juez a no ser que el acusado lo haya contrarrestado y el fallo judicial fue hecho en contra de usted.

Complete y presente el formulario Noticia de Apelación (SC 140) (Notice of Appeal SC 140) dentro de los 30 días del día que el Escribano de la Corte envíe por correo el “Aviso de Entrada de Fallo Judicial” (Notice of Entry of Judgment”), ( la fecha de envío aparecerá en la “Aviso de Entrada de Juicio”).  Hay un cargo de $75 por costos de archivo.

El escribano de la corte enviará un aviso con la fecha del juicio y las dos partes deben de volver a corte y presentar sus casos de nuevo otra vez como si el otro juicio nunca hubiera ocurrido.  La decisión del juez en la apelación es final.

En la apelación, ambas partes pueden tener representación legal de un abogado.

Pagar el fallo judicial directamente al acreedor o al tribunal

Para pagar a la corte complete el formulario “Petición para Pagar el Fallo Judicial a la Corte”(SC-145) (“Request to Pay Judgment to the Court” SC-145) y presente la cantidad total del fallo judicial, incluyendo costos e intereses. Hay un cargo de $20 por costos de archivo.  La Corte (y no el Acreedor del Fallo Judicial) es la responsable de completar el formulario “Reconocimiento de Satisfacción del Fallo Judicial”(EJ-100) (Acknowledgement of Satisfaction of Judgment EJ-100) y registrarlo.

Establecer un plan de Pago

El acreedor del fallo puede presentar el formulario “Solicitud para Pagar el Fallo en cuotas” SC-220 (Request to Pay Judgment in Installment SC-220). Este formulario debe de presentarse en conjunto con el formulario de “Estado Financiero” (EJ-165) (“Financial Statement” EJ-165) la cual es un formulario de estado financiero. Ambos formularios, “Solicitud para Pagar el Fallo en Cuotas” y “Estado Financiero” serán enviados a través del correo por la Corte al acreedor del fallo judicial. El acreedor del fallo puede oponerse a la solicitud del endeudado o estar de acuerdo. Una audiencia podría o no podría llevarse a cabo.

PROTEGIENDO LA PROPIEDAD O LOS INGRESOS DE UNA ACCION DE COLECCIÓN

Un deudor puede proteger algunos o todos sus bienes incluyendo propiedad e ingresos de ser tomados para pagar el fallo judicial.  Contáctese con el programa de Consejeros de Reclamos Menores para más información

-Pregunta

¿Cómo puedo colectar mi dinero?

Respuesta

El Acreedor del Fallo Judicial (la persona que ganó el fallo) tiene que tomar algunos pasos a seguir para colectar del fallo judicial.  La Corte no colectará del fallo judicial a nombre del deudor. El fallo judicial de la Corte de Reclamos Menores es el final y ejecutable a los 30 días después que el escribano hay llevado o enviado por correo el formulario de “Aviso de Entrada del Fallo Judicial” (Reclamos Menores) (SC-130). El formulario de “Aviso de Entrada del Fallo Judicial” (Reclamos Menores), con la fecha de envío será estampada en el propio formulario. Si el demandado presenta una apelación y pierde, el fallo judicial se vuelve ejecutable inmediatamente.

Examinación del Deudor

En un examen del deudor, al deudor se le ordena comparecer en Corte para contestar las preguntas del Acreedor del Fallo Judicial sobre la existencia y localización de sus bienes.

Para programar una audiencia de examinación, usted debe de completar y presentar el formulario “Aplicación para una orden de producir una declaración de bienes y para Comparecer para Examinacion” (CS-134) (“Application for Order to Produce Statement of Assets and to Appear for Examination” SC-134”). Hay un cobro de $60 para que el escribano emita una fecha de audiencia para la examinación del deudor.

Debe tener una copia del formulario SC-134 y una copia en blanco del formulario “Declaración de Bienes del Deudor del Fallo Judicial” (Reclamos Menores) (formulario SC-133) (“Judgment Debtor’s Statement of Assets(Small Claim)” (Forma SC-133) para entregarle personalmente al deudor del fallo judicial, por el Alguacil o un servidor de procesos que tenga licencia, por lo menos 10 días calendarios antes de la fecha de audiencia.  Después tiene que presentar a la corte un formulario “Prueba de Servicio” (Reclamos Menores) (“Proof of Service Small Claims) Formulario SC_104.

Gravamen Bancario (Bank Levy)

Un gravamen bancario o bank levy significa que el dinero será extraído de la cuenta bancaria del deudor del fallo judicial para pagar el fallo. Solamente se necesita el nombre y la dirección del banco. El número de cuenta no es necesario.

Usted necesitará el formulario “Memorándum de Costos después del Reconocimiento de crédito del Fallo Judicial y Declaración de Interés Acumulado” (MC-012) (“Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest”MC-012) para el interés  y el formulario “Orden de Ejecución” (EJ-130) (“Writ of Execution EJ-130) la cual ordena al Alguacil a que realice el gravamen. Ambas formas debe presentarlas al escribano de la corte. Hay un costo de $40 para emitir una orden de ejecución (Writ of Execution).

Una vez que sea sellado y emitido por el Escribano de la Corte, lleve la Orden de Ejecución (Writ of Execution) con el formulario Aviso de Gravamen, Formulario (EJ-150) (Notice of Levy) al alguacil para que entreguen la forma. El alguacil cobra por ese servicio.

Embargar el Salario del Deudor del Fallo Judicial

Una orden de embargo de salario ordena al empleador del deudor darle al Alguacil parte del salario del deudor hasta que la deuda sea pagada totalmente.

Para embargar el salario, complete el formulario “Memorándum de Costos después del Reconocimiento de Crédito del Fallo Judicial y Declaración de Interés Acumulado” (MC-012) (“Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest”MC-012) que indica los intereses y gastos acumulados después del fallo judicial y una “Orden de Ejecución” EJ-130(“Writ of Execution” EJ-130) la cual ordena al Alguacil a hacer cumplir la orden del fallo judicial.  El formulario “Orden de Ejecución” (Writ of Execution) cuesta $40 presentarlo en corte.

Una vez que sea sellado y emitido por el Escribano de la Corte, lleve el formulario “Orden de Ejecución”(“Writ of Execution”) junto con el formulario completo de “Solicitud de Ordenes de Retención de Salario”(WG-001) (“Application for Earnings Withholding Order”WG-001) al alguacil. El alguacil cobra por ese servicio.

Coloque un guardián en el negocio del deudor

Si el deudor es un negocio, el Alguacil, por un precio, permanece en el establecimiento del negocio del deudor y toma todas las ganancias que entran hasta que la deuda es pagada. El guardián puede colectar dinero en efectivo, cheques y hasta giros bancarios de tarjetas de crédito. Asegúrese que tiene el nombre y la dirección del negocio.

Va a necesitar el formulario “Memorándum de Costos después del Reconocimiento de Crédito del Fallo Judicial y Declaración de Interés Acumulado” (MC-012) (“Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest”MC-012) que indica los intereses y el formulario “Orden de Ejecución” (EJ-130) (“Writ of Execution EJ-130) la cual ordena al Alguacil a que sea empleado como “guardián”

Pídale al alguacil que ponga un guardián en el negocio. Si el deudor cierra el negocio mientras el alguacil está allí, usted tendrá que pagar otro cargo cada vez que el alguacil regrese de nuevo.

Toque de Caja

Si el deudor es un negocio con una caja registradora, el alguacil puede ir al negocio y tomar el dinero suficiente de la caja registradora para pagar la deuda del fallo judicial más los cobros del alguacil.

Usted va a necesitar el formulario “Memorándum de Costos después del Reconocimiento de Crédito del Fallo Judicial y Declaración de Interés Acumulado” (MC-012) (“Memorandum of Costs after Judgment Acknowledgement of Credit, and Declaration of Accrued Interest”MC-012) que indica los intereses y el formulario “Orden de Ejecución” (EJ-130) (“Writ of Execution EJ-130) la cual ordena al alguacil a realizar “un toque de caja”.  Ambos formularios deben de presentarse al escribano de la corte.  Hay una tarifa para emitir la “Orden de Ejecución” (Writ of Execution).

Lleve la “Orden de Ejecución” (Writ of Execution) a la oficina del alguacil e instrúyale que haga un “Toque de Caja (Till Tap).  Asegúrese que tiene el nombre y la dirección del negocio.  Si no hay suficiente dinero en la caja registradora para pagar el fallo judicial, usted tendrá que pagar una nueva tarifa al alguacil cada vez que regrese. Hay una tarifa para que el alguacil haga un toque de caja.

Ponga un derecho de retención (lien)sobre los bienes inmuebles del deudor del fallo judicial.

Un “Resumen de Juicio (Abstract of Judgment)- Civil y de Reclamos Menores (EJ-001) pone un derecho de retención (lien) en un terrero, casa u otro edificio y en el condado donde se haya registrado el resumen de juicio y donde el deudor es el propietario.

Para emitir el “Resumen de Juicio”, usted va a necesitar presentar el formulario EJ-001 con el escribano de la corte. Hay una tarifa de $40 por presentarla a corte.  Después que haya sido emitida, llévela a la Oficina de Registros del Condado para registrarla.  Regístrela en todos los condados donde el deudor pueda poseer propiedades.

-Pregunta

¿Por cuánto tiempo es válido el fallo?

Los fallos judiciales de Reclamos Menores automáticamente expiran después de 10 años.  Usted puede renovar su fallo judicial por otros 10 años adicionales antes de que expiren.

-Pregunta

¿Qué tengo que hacer después que el fallo judicial haya sido pagado?

Respuesta

El Acreedor del Fallo Judicial debe de presentar en corte el formulario Reconocimiento de Satisfacción del Fallo (Acknowledgement of Satisfaction of Judgment).  Si usted no archivó en corte el Derecho de Retencion(lien) en contra de propiedades, entonces use el formulario SC-290 o firme el formulario Reconocimiento de Satisfacción de Fallo (Acknowledgement of Satisfaction of Judgment) en la parte de atrás del formulario Fallo de Reclamos Menores SC-130 (Small Claims Judgment)

Si el deudor hace una petición por escrito y usted no presenta en corte el formulario de Reconocimiento de Satisfacción del Fallo dentro de 14 días, usted puede ser considerado responsable por todos los daños incurridos más $50.

Si existe un derecho de retención (lien), usted tendrá que usar el formulario EJ-100. Llévelo a un notario y que lo notaricen antes de presentarlo a la corte y entonces registre una copia certificada con la oficina de Registro del condado.

Usted TIENE que quitar los derechos de retenciones (liens) que usted haya puesto en los inmuebles o propiedades personales del deudor.